Criminal Lawyer Macomb County
WHAT WILL HAPPEN TO ME? Drunk Driving Charges in Michigan-
No one can predict the outcome of a legal case, but our DUI attorneys are the best in the area. The legal decision will be made by a judge or jury after hearing all the admissible-pertinent facts in light of the relevant DUI laws.
Please bear in mind that the prosecution has several distinct advantages – experienced DUI prosecutors on its payroll; police officers and breath analysis technicians who have been trained as professional witnesses; a legislature that passes laws designed to make it tougher on you every step of the way; and plenty of funding to see to it that you are convicted.
Criminal Attorney Detroit
Criminal Attorney Birmingham MI
Criminal Attorney Bloomfield Hills MI
Criminal Attorney Dearborn MI
Criminal Attorney Farmington Hills MI
Criminal Lawyer Macomb County MI
Criminal Lawyer Oakland County
Criminal Lawyer Rochester Hills MI
Criminal Lawyer Troy MI
Criminal Lawyer Utica MI
The only way you can begin to balance the odds is to hire a Detroit DUI attorney who knows Michigan’s complex DUI laws, understands your defenses, and who is willing to fight on your behalf.
I HAVE A COMMERCIAL DRIVER’S LICENSE (CDL). WHAT WILL HAPPEN TO ME?
Under recent laws, your CDL license will be affected even if you are arrested for DUI while driving a non-commercial vehicle.
- If you are arrested for DUI while driving a non-commercial vehicle and refuse to take a breath test, you will receive a one-year disqualification of your CDL if it is your first DUI.
- If you are arrested for DUI while driving a non-commercial vehicle and are found guilty, you will receive a one-year disqualification for a first offense, even if you received court supervision.
- If you are found guilty of a second offense of DUI, you will receive a lifetime disqualification of your CDL.
WHAT IS THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN A SUSPENSION AND A REVOCATION?
A DUI suspension is set for a definite time — six months, one year or three years. At the end of the suspension, your license can be reinstated simply by paying a reinstatement fee, so long as in the interim you have not been convicted for driving during your DUI suspension or had another suspension or revocation placed on your driving record.
A revocation is indefinite — it has no automatic reinstatement date. This means that you will remain revoked until after the Secretary of State has determined that you are now responsible enough to have a driver’s license and that you won’t endanger the public. The reinstatement hearing process can be long and arduous.
WHAT IF I DRIVE WHILE SUSPENDED OR REVOKED?
Driving while suspended or revoked for a DUI is a serious matter. There is mandatory jail and/or community service time for each conviction, and the length of your eligibility for reinstatement will be extended. You may also be faced with forfeiture of the vehicle you were driving. Depending on your background, the prosecution can seek to charge you with a felony and seek penitentiary time.
After January 1, 2009, driving during an MDDP eligible DUI suspension will become a Class 4 felony, punishable from 1 to 3 years in the state penitentiary and you will face a mandatory minimum sentence of 30 days in jail for a first offense. The penalties are higher for subsequent offenses.
I NEED TO DRIVE! WHAT CAN I DO?
Contact US to get the ball rolling.
The Info On This Site Does not constitute Legal Advise. Please Talk to one of Our Attorneys before proceeding with your legal matter.